Nominate someone in your community today | Business

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Nominate someone in your community today
Nominate someone in your community today
Of the 12 2 Those Who Care recipients from Hancock County, three were agencies of distinction:  Island Connection, Friends in Action and Hospice Volunteers of Hancock County.  

Five 2 Those Who Care recipients came from Washington County.  2010 winner Barbara Paul of Perry, lives the farthest away of any winner.

Only three of our 2 Those Who Care recipients hail from Waldo County, they represent Searsport and Stockton Springs.

Piscataquis County has produced three 2 Those Who Care recipients, one of which was an Agency of Distinction. The two individual recipients are from Dover-Foxcroft and Guilford.  

25 of the 69 recipients of individual awards are women.  Another two women shared the award with their husbands.  

There have been 12 Agencies of Distinction since 2001:  two of them are hospice organizations and two help women who are victims of domestic violence.  

Each year, the individual volunteer who receives the highest point score from the Board of Governors receives the John W. Coombs award.   In 12 years of 2 Those Who Care, 7 recipients have been male, 5 female.

One 2 Those Who Care recipient came from outside the six counties that WLBZ 2 serves.  John Heald is from Southport in Lincoln County, but he was nominated for his volunteer service in Washington and Penobscot Counties.  All other individual award winners have come from Penobscot, Hancock, Washington, Waldo, Somerset and Piscataquis Counties.  Most recipients are from Bangor and its surrounding communities in Penobscot County.  Just one Somerset County resident has received a 2 Those Who Care award:  John Parola from Ripley in 2010.  

The 2 Those Who Care awards reception was held at the Bangor Civic Center for its first two years.   It spent the next six at the G. Peirce Webber Campus Center at Husson University.  The past four and this year’s program and reception will be held at the Gracie Theatre, also on the Husson campus.  

WLBZ 2 makes a donation to a non-profit chosen by each recipient.  The amount of the donations has grown in recent years.  Now, the winners of a 2 Those Who Care  award have $500 donations made in their names, recipients of the John W. Coombs award have a donation of $750 made to the non-profit of their choice.  Agencies of Distinction receive a donation of $1,000.

Nominate someone in your community today. Nomination forms must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, July 12 2013. Download the nomination form here: 2013 2 Those Who Care Nomination Form